About Us

In the Beginning


This musical event originated in 1990.  Nancy Spereno together with the Harborfest Board of Directors organized the first honorees to be inducted into the Oswego Music Hall of Fame.  The 1990 inductees were: Joseph Spereno, Charlie Davis, Dick Workmen, Jimmy Gannon and Dick Fellows. These men represented the beginning of the best of the best in various music categories.  They were presented a key to the city by then Mayor John T. Sullivan at the opening ceremony  for Harborfest  in Brietbeck Park.  

In 2015, Dan Bachelor resurrected the event, with the induction solely of, Joseph P. Spereno.   Joe dedicated  much of his life, to his love for music as a musician and  agent.  In his later life he enjoyed a career in telecommunications.  His untimely death touched our local music community.  

The OMHF began as a grass roots effort to fund the Joseph P. Spereno Scholarship set up by the Spereno family.  The scholarship fundraiser event ran with the help of community and family volunteers. Two scholarships have been awarded to deserving local students continuing on in the field of music.  In two short years the Oswego Music Hall of Fame organization has grown.  We are proud to be a nonprofit 501(c)(3) tax exempt organization.

It is the mission of Oswego Music Hall of Fame, Inc., to honor and recognize local exceptional Oswego County musicians.  We do this at our major fundraiser and annual induction ceremony.  We intend to provide a music scholarship to a deserving area high school student who is furthering their career in the music field.  Our “Keep the Music Playing” program gives financial assistance for music equipment rentals and lessons for children who want to play an  instrument but do not have the means to do so. In both schools and outside lessons. Music is a vital part of our children’s development, all children should have the opportunity to experience the magic of music. If you should like to donate, or volunteer in anyway at the event, please contact us at: oswegomusichalloffame@gmail.com
or donate at the bottom of this page.

The Oswego Music Hall of Fame honors many special musicians, who have kept Oswego dancing, singing, and smiling for years.  These musicians are presented the “Entertainment Award" in their musical genre.  We have reserved one special award in honor of Joe Spereno, the “Joseph P. Spereno Hall of Fame Award”.  This award is reserved for the absolute highest honor of the ceremony.

The induction ceremony, would not be possible without the help of the local musicians, and sound technicians.  They volunteer their time to play and stage the event for the community to raise money for our children and to honor area top musicians.  

The OMHF Advisory Board consists of volunteers who work tirelessly on this event to raise funding for the event and scholarships for students and music programs to "
Keep the Music Playing".

Nancy Spereno, President

Deborah Anderson, Vice President
Lee Audlin, Secretary
Melissa Klefbeck
Julia Simpson
Brian Klefbeck
Lorie Burger

Joe Cortini

Joanna Nix Jewett

Kevin Hill

Ron Castaldo

Patricia North

Sonia Berlin

Special thanks to:
Robert Larkin, Sound

Thank you to past contributors in the early years’.  

Thank you to all our sponsors.


Help Our Cause

Your support and contributions will enable us to meet our goals.   Your generous donation will fund our mission.

Pay with PayPal or a debit/credit card